PhD applications

Entrance Requirements

ERC requires that applicants hold a Masters degree with at least a minimum of 65% for the degree. Please note that our capacity for doctoral supervision is limited and entrance is highly competitive. Students who meet the 65% minimum are not guaranteed acceptance.

We also require the following documents to assess your application:

  • cover letter (noting a proposed supervisor, based on the alignment of your topic with their research interests)
  • CV (Max 3 pages)
  • an example of previous written work (5 pages – an extract from a longer piece will suffice)
  • at least 5-6 page research proposal (including problem statement, an identification of the originality of your proposed research, research question and sub-questions, literature review, methodology, proposed time lines,  references).
  • academic transcripts

Application process

Interested students can contact Emails should include ALL the documents described above. Once we have received the complete application we will preliminarily assess it, after which students can apply officially through the UCT online application system.

Please note that we will assess your application and any missing documents will slow down the process.

Doctoral supervision

The following staff members are able to supervise PhDs. If your research interests are not aligned with their areas of interest, ERC is unfortunately not able to provide supervision.

Possible supervisors

  • Katye Altieri – air pollution; global change; energy policy; economic development
  • Amos Madhlopa – renewable energy technology
  • Andrew Marquard – climate change mitigation; energy policy and governance; energy, modelling & policy analysis
  • Gisela Prasad – energy access for the poor, efficient woodstove technology, job creation, poverty alleviation
  • Britta Rennkamp – climate technology and policy in developing countries
  • Harald Winkler – climate change (economics, mitigation & policy), energy and environmental economics

Possible co-supervisors

  • Jiska de Groot – renewable energy technologies, marine renewable energy, clean energy access, and poverty alleviation in developing countries
  • Bothwell Batidzirai – energy access and inclusive green growth, bio-energy technology assessment, bio-based economy